With the Canadian based side Toronto Wolfpack already out of the competition, another five sides yesterday announced their decision to withdraw from the 2020 Challenge Cup, plunging the RFL and remaining clubs into confusion.

A decision was quickly agreed with the BBC, sponsors Coral, and the clubs themselves to salvage the competition by staging a re-draw which occurred tonight and was broadcast live on the OuRLeague site.

The remaining ten Super League sides, minus the Wolfpack and Huddersfield Giants, who had previously been eliminated in the fifth round at the hands of the Toronto team.

The clubs who have withdrawn in this most extraordinary of seasons are; Toronto Wolfpack, York City Knights, Sheffield Eagles, Newcastle Thunder, Featherstone Rovers and Widnes Vikings.

In the new draw the first four sides drawn out of the bag will take part in a double-header at the John Smith’s Stadium in Huddersfield on the 22nd August 2020, the winning two sides joining the remaining six in the quarter finals to be played on the weekend of the 18th to the 20th September.

The semi-finals are scheduled to be played on the 3rd October and the final a fortnight later, on the 17th October 2020.

The draw for the two ties in the sixth round was as follows;

Castleford Tigers v. Hull FC

Catalans Dragons v. Wakefield Trinity

The draw for the quarter finals was as follows;

Warrington Wolves v. St Helens

Leeds Rhinos v. Hull KR

Castleford or Hull FC v. Wigan Warriors

Catalans or Wakefield v. Salford Red Devils

All views expressed are those of the author and not necessarily those of the RLFANS.COM or its subsites.

Copyright 1999 - 2020 RLFANS.COM

You must be 18+ to gamble, for more information and for help with gambling issues see